Steam Overlay issue

Where the community helps the community! Post any technical issues you experience here.

Steam Overlay issue

Postby YetiYellow on Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:33 pm

Ive googled this issue, seen several people have it, but never found a solution to it, so im hoping maybe someone here has one.

I cannot start a party because I cant invite friends. shift+tab does nothing, invite friends does nothing, alt tabbing out and sending an invite through steam does nothing. I cant buy keys to unlock loot boxes, it says platform overlay needs to be enabled. Even when I go into options now and try to change controller settings, when I click on configure, nothing happens. a couple of weeks ago I changed my configuration, so not being able to do that is recent. It worked just fine then.

Steam overlay is checked for enabled in the options. Ive uninstalled rocket league. Im running it as admin, ive tried in bigg picture mode, and not in big picture mode. Ive even disabled steam overlay, ran the game, then went back in and enabled it again to see if it would get it going, but it did not.

Im up to like 40+ loot boxes, so it would be nice to get to open some of those, and to be able to invite people. So if anyone can help out ill buy you a taco.
YetiYellow
Supersonic
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:16 pm
Steam ID: Yeti_Piss
Region: US

Re: Steam Overlay issue

Postby AlexCuse44 on Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:40 am

Does steam overlay work in other games?
Image
AlexCuse44
Aerialistic
User avatar
Aerialistic
 
Posts: 1459
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:23 pm
Location: Tokyo Underpass
Steam ID: AlexCuse44
Region: US East

Re: Steam Overlay issue

Postby YetiYellow on Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:34 pm

yes, rocket league is the only game I have this issue with.


Ive also seen people say if you run a capture program, like fraps, it could cause this issue. While I don't run fraps, it occurred to me not long ago that NVIDIA has some sort of capture software, as well as windows 10 having the windows+G menu for gaming that has capture software on it as well. So im gonna try getting both of those shut down now and see if that helps. But other than that ill be at a loss.




<UPDATE>


This fixed the problem. I guess it was the capture software either in Nvidia, Windows, or both. Turning them off seems to have fixed the issue.
YetiYellow
Supersonic
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:16 pm
Steam ID: Yeti_Piss
Region: US

Re: Steam Overlay issue

Postby AlexCuse44 on Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:26 pm

Glad you were able to resolve the issue :)
Image
AlexCuse44
Aerialistic
User avatar
Aerialistic
 
Posts: 1459
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:23 pm
Location: Tokyo Underpass
Steam ID: AlexCuse44
Region: US East

Re: Steam Overlay issue

Postby zGreenMachine- on Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:09 am

Think I've seen others recommend turning off the Windows Game Bar thing as that has been known to cause issues.
Image
made by AlexCuse44
zGreenMachine-
Assault-Craft
User avatar
Assault-Craft
 
Posts: 1803
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:21 pm
Location: R̶o̶c̶k̶e̶t̶ ̶L̶a̶b̶s̶
PSN ID: xGR33NM4CH1N3x
Steam ID: 76561198098758739
Region: US Central


Return to Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests